Work Out at Work

It may seem obvious, but it’s worth pointing out, that a lot can be accomplished during a lunch hour. Take your lunch to work, and when you’d normally go out to eat for an hour, go for a run. If you’re lucky, your work may even have showers and locker rooms. My office has a small, but decent gym, so when I know I won’t be able to make it to the gym after work, I make sure to try and squeeze a work out in during the day.

Even getting outside to just walk for an hour is a great thing to do. You don’t have to become a sweaty mess. At a decent pace, you can easily walk several miles, and burn a few hundred calories. Eat your lunch at your desk when you’re back to work!

Another great thing to do at work is stairs. Sure you may get some weird looks, but remember you’ll be getting fit! A good set of stairs is a great workout, up and down, burns a ton of calories. Set a goal of 25 flights of stairs, and then go for a small walk to cool down. If you have a large office, chances are you can find a low traffic area.

The point I’m trying to make is plan ahead. If you know your normal gym night is a busy one that won’t let you get away, find a way to cram something into your day, whether it’s before work, during work, or even later, make sure you don’t let it slide. Even if you’re not doing your full workout and calorie burn, get something in, you’ll feel better, and it’s a mental win.

2 thoughts on “Work Out at Work

  1. When I worked a desk job in an office, I felt like I spent my whole day sitting down in one place and had no time otherwise for physical activity. It was awful! I started finding ways to work in exercise into tasks I knew I would have to do every day at work. For example, my office was on the 8th floor, so I would take the stairs up and down at least 2 times per day. Some mornings this was no easy task, but I started to see a difference in my leg strength.

Leave a Reply

